LANDMARKS OF WINE CULTURE

A Photo Exhibit Presented by Wines of Germany

October 6 to November 2 at the Hôtel Gault de Montreal

Learn more

LANDMARKS OF WINE CULTURE

A Photo Exhibit Presented by Wines of Germany

October 6 to November 2 at the Hôtel Gault de Montreal

Learn more

Landmarks of Wine Culture

Presented by Wines of Germany

October 6, 2017 – November 2, 2017

Hotel Gault de Montreal

Exhibit Hours: 7:00am – 11:00pm

Since 2010, the German Wine Institute has awarded prizes to “Landmarks of Wine Culture”: places which are documenting the history and tradition of wine growing in an impressive way.

The exposition is a gift to Montreal and Canada, for the 375th anniversary of the city and 150th anniversary of confederation. It presents 13 images of wine culture representing each of Germany’s 13 wine regions.

DISCOVER THE LANDMARKS OF GERMAN WINE CULTURE

Ahr

Marienthal Monastery: A Modern Estate in Historical Surroundings

Read more

“Vision Requires Space,” proclaimed the 90 winegrowing families of Franken’s oldest winegrowing cooperative. And through “Weinreich” (World of Wine) in the lower Franconian town of Sommerach, that vision has become a reality. As a collective, the Sommerach winemakers believe in combining respect for tradition with an innovative spirit. This philosophical blend is not limited to the wines they produce year in and year out, but is reflected in the redesign of their meeting house as well.

The tasting room on the ground floor is young, modern and hip. The ‘Kostbar’ and its staff serve up Franken classics alongside more international varieties.

In 2004, the Estate Weingut Kloster Marienthal was founded and provides an atmospheric backdrop for concerts, festivals, tastings and other events.

Baden

Winklerberg Volcanic Rock Garden: Wines With a Volcanic Touch

Read more

Success! Tired but satisfied, the winegrowers and their hard working harvest team meet at the old vineyard hut. The grapes they have harvested will be used to make fine Kaiserstuhl wine – grown on the Ihringer Winklerberg. This is Germany’s warmest vineyard site with a microclimate that ranges into the subtropical. Loess soil created during the ice age, sits atop weathered lava rocks from a volcano that quieted some 15 million years ago.

Yet the hill is more renowned for the wines from the vines that thrive in its soils – at least since 962 and probably even earlier since it is likely that the Romans planted the first vines in this fertile soil.

Nature and wine of the highest quality – that is the motto of the signposted path through the Volcanic Rock Garden that opened on Winklerberg in October 2006.

Franken

The Weinreich in Sommerach, Franken

Read more

“Vision Requires Space,” proclaimed the 90 winegrowing families of Franken’s oldest winegrowing cooperative. And through “Weinreich” (World of Wine) in the lower Franconian town of Sommerach, that vision has become a reality. As a collective, the Sommerach winemakers believe in combining respect for tradition with an innovative spirit. This philosophical blend is not limited to the wines they produce year in and year out, but is reflected in the redesign of their meeting house as well.

The tasting room on the ground floor is young, modern and hip. The ‘Kostbar’ and its staff serve up Franken classics alongside more international varieties.

Hessische Bergstrasse

The “Wein Und Stein” Experiential Path in Heppenheim, Hessische Bergstrasse

Read more

Along the experiential path running through the hillside vineyards of Heppenheim in the Hessische Bergstrasse you will find a granite-and-porphyry grape monument titled “The Genesis of King Riesling”. Artist Adolf Mayer from Tramin seeks to remind visitors that the king of German grapes actually derives from another, older grape: the Red Riesling.

Widespread in medieval times, Red Riesling was restored by researchers at the University of Geisenheim In 1996 the first “pilot vines” were planted in Heppenheim, now the world’s largest source of Red Riesling vines.
Finished in 2007, the seven kilometer “Wein und Stein” experiential path features 70 stations teaching visitors about the cultural history of wine.

Mittelrhein

The Wine Trading Centre of Bacharach: Home of the Roman God Bacchus

Read more

This city honours the ancient God of Bacchus in its name. The ancient god of wine left his mark on this city as on no other place. In the Middle Ages, Bacharach was one of the most important trading centres for wine.

During the 19th century Romantic period, the small village of Bacharach in the heart of the Middle Rhine Valley was thought to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thus it is not surprising that in 2002 the Middle Rhine Valley became part of the World Heritage List of UNESCO.

In 2004, the Estate Weingut Kloster Marienthal was founded and provides an atmospheric backdrop for concerts, festivals, tastings and other events.

Mosel

The Calmont Vineyard: Where the Rock Itself Gives Birth to Wine

Read more

There’s no steeper slope even along the Mosel: With a gradient of up to 60 percent, the Calmont is the steepest sloped vineyard in all Europe.

The jagged and steep rock slopes mean hard work to the wine makers, enabling only hand work on the slopes – up to 1800 hours per hectare. The grapes have to be brought down to the carts on the men’s backs. From the 1990s on, a single-tracked rack railway eased the pain of the work, that railway being a piece of wine culture in itself well worth seeing. Nevertheless, work remains hard up in the steep slopes, and because of that, today only 13 hectares of the 22 hectares of vineyard space are still stocked with grapevines.

Nahe

The Schlossbockelheimer Kupfergrube (copper mine) site, Nahe: From Semi-Precious Metals to Liquid Gold

Read more

These hills are now used to make fine wine, but once they were prized for the semi-precious metals beneath them.

Before the first Riesling was planted here in 1903, the cliffs had to be exploded off the steep, rutted terrain and 3.5 million cubic feet of soil had to be cleared away by hand! Eight years later the weathered, mineral-rich volcanic soil, notable for its significant slate composition, produced its first attention-grabbing vintage.

The estate winery Gut Hermannsberg grows Riesling on the terraced vineyards of the Schlossböckelheimer Kupfergrube. Cellar Master Karsten Peter ferments the fruit behind the copper facade of the winery building, using only the vineyard’s wild yeast to produce the estate’s Grosse Gewächs wines.

Pfalz

Deidesheim – A Wine Village with Tradition: Pfalz

Read more

For Deidesheim winemakers, staying true to traditions also means not shying away from treading new paths. In the mid-19th century, Deidesheim vintners pioneered the process of harvest selection which resulted in international acclaim for Deidesheimer Rieslings.

In 1802, the pretty little town on the east edge of the Haardt region was the site of the first Qualitatswein production in the Pfalz when winery owner Andreas Jordan named his wines based on variety and site.

The Deidesheim custom of placing bundled vines within the old vaulted cellars can be seen in this artistic display of vines at the Bassermann-Jordan winery. This custom serves as a reminder to all that the vineyard is where everything truly begins.

Rheingau

The Monastery of Eberbach: Where the Monks Made the Wine

Read more

No other building in the area symbolizes centuries of wine making as the Monastery of Eberbach near the village of Eltville.

In 1136, thirteen monks first set foot into this remote Rheingau Valley and brought with them Pinot Noir vines imported from Burgundy. Ebersbach soon grew to be one of the biggest and most important cloisters in Germany, also thanks to its wine. Pinot Noir became the first successful wine export from the Rheingau. Since monks were free of toll charges along the Rhine they dominated the wine trade all the way down the river to Cologne, a very profitable business.

With 220 hectares of vineyards, the Eberbach estate is the largest wine growing company in Germany.

Rheinhessen

Vineyard Site Liebfrauenstift: As Far as the Tower’s Shadow Reaches

Read more

In Medieval Ages, the monks already cultivated grapevines here. Right between the vineyards, however, the Catholic parish church of Liebfrauen rose – a small gothic basilica that seemed to have sprung right from a textbook with its twin tower facade, its portal adorned by stone-carved figures and its beautiful aisle in the choir.

The pilgrims at the Liebfrauenstift, called the sweet wine they were tasting from the vineyards surrounding the church “the very milk of Our Lady” – in German: Liebfraumilch. In 1834 the viticultural pioneer Philipp Bronner put in writing the existing rule concerning that name: “… only as far as the church tower’s shadow reaches, the original Liebfrauenmilch is growing.”

The German viticultural law of 1971 defined a Liebfraumilch simply as a sweet white wine containing at least 70 percent of Riesling grapes from the areas of Nahe, Palatinate, Rheingau and Rheinhessen.

Saale-Unstrut

The Vineyard Huts Along the Saale and Unstrut, Saale-Unstrut : Southern Flair in the Northernmost Wine Region

Read more

One of the most famous hallmarks of the Saale-Unstrut winegrowing region are the many vineyard huts visible on the hillside vineyards and steep terraces of the riverbank. Most are no more than small utility sheds formerly used by winegrowers to store their tools, eat a meal or take shelter against the wind and rain of a harsh day. Others also served as cozy weekend houses – and a few as luxurious summer residences for celebrating wine drenched debauchery.

The most famous of these is perhaps the Toskanaschlösschen (Tuscany Manor) with its brick-red stucco and white window panes and mouldings. From its lookout tower visitors enjoy a fantastic view over the vineyards of the Schweigenberg, including its stone walls and countless stairs – as well as the Unstrut Valley.

Sachsen

State Estate Schloss Wackerbarth: The Oldest Sparkling Wine Cellar in Saxony

Read more

Castle Wackerbarth has been well renowned far beyond the borders of Saxony for its premium wines as well as for its first-class sparkling wines. Being the inheritors of the traditional brand name of Bussard Champagnes, Wackerbarth is considered to be the oldest sparkling wine manufacturer in Saxony – and the second oldest in all of Germany.

Modernization and quality production is the utmost focus of the owners, as is demonstrated by the new estate building with its huge and highly modern cellars underneath, opened in 2002. Castle Wackerbarth is the first wine estate theme park in Europe and offers modern wine seminars and events behind its old Baroque façade.

Württemberg

Pfedelbach and The Prince’s Barrel, Württemberg

Read more

Naked save for a giant fig leaf, the wooden figure of Bacchus appears to have already had more than enough wine. And yet, the empty goblet in each hand suggests he’s still in the mood for more. The original sculpture served as a “Fassriegel”- a locking mechanism common in barrels of 1000 litres and more.

66,664 liters of wine fit into the Fürstenfass (Prince’s Barrel), now housed in the winemaking museum of Pfedelbach in the heart of the Hohenloher Land. The Fürstenfass was intended for Zehntwein, wine collected as taxes and then typically used to pay the officials serving the prince. It saw its final wine tithe in 1822.

CARTES POSTALES : LA CULTURE DU VIN

Une exposition photo Présentée par les Vins d’Allemagne

Du 6 octobre au 2 novembre à l’Hôtel Gault de Montréal

En apprendre d’avantage

CARTES POSTALES: LA CULTURE DU VIN

Une exposition photo Présentée par les Vins d’Allemagne

Du 6 octobre au 2 novembre à l’Hôtel Gault de Montréal

En apprendre d’avantage

Cartes postales : la culture du vin

Présentée par les Vins d’Allemagne

6 octobre 2017 – 2 novembre 2017

Hôtel Gault de Montréal

Heures de l’exposition: Tous les jours de 7h00, à 23h00

Depuis 2010, l’Institut des Vins d’Allemagne remet des prix aux « Cartes postales de la culture du vin » : ces endroits qui documentent l’histoire et la tradition derrière la culture du vin et ce, de façon impressionnante.

Un cadeau offert à Montréal et au Canada par l’Allemagne à l’occasion du 375e anniversaire de la métropole et du 150e anniversaire de la Conféderation, elle représente en 13 images autant de régions de l’Allemagne dans laquelle se fait la culture du vin.

DÉCOUVREZ LES CARTES POSTALES: LA CULTURE DU VIN

Ahr

Le Kloster Marienthal: un domaine moderne dans un cadre historique

Lire la suite

Fondé en 1137, le cloître augustinien de Marienthal fut le premier cloître de la vallée de l’Ahr. Consacrées à une vie de piété, les sœurs travaillaient d’arrache-pied sur les parcelles de terre environnantes et plantaient des vignes sur les flancs escarpés de la vallée de l’Hubach. Bien qu’aujourd’hui il ne subsiste que les murs pittoresques de l’église du cloître, une vie nouvelle a récemment pris racine et commencé à s’épanouir.

En 2004, le domaine Weingut Kloster Marienthal a été fondé. Il offre un cadre enchanteur pour les concerts, les festivals, les dégustations et autres événements.

Pays de Bade

Jardin de roches volcaniques Winklerberg: des vins avec une touche volcanique

Lire la suite

Victoire! Fatigués , mais satisfaits, les vignerons et leur équipe dévouée de vendangeurs se réunissent à l’ancienne cabane viticole. Les raisins qu’ils ont récoltés dans le vignoble Ihringer Winklerberg serviront à fabriquer l’excellent vin du Kaiserstuhl. Ce vignoble est le plus chaud d’Allemagne, avec un microclimat qui permet d’atteindre des températures subtropicales. Une couche de loess créé à l’ère glaciaire recouvre de la roche de lave provenant d’un volcan éteint il y a 15 millions d’années.

Pourtant ce qui fait la réputation de ces coteaux, c’est d’abord les vins qu’on y produit et les vignes dont ils sont issus – depuis au moins 962 à Ihringen, et probablement même avant cette date, puisque ce sont les Romains qui ont planté les premières vignes dans ce sol fertile.

« Une nature et des vins de la plus grande qualité » est le slogan du sentier balisé, inauguré en octobre 2006, qui parcourt le jardin de roches volcaniques Winklerberg.

Franconie

Le Weinreich de la commune de Sommerach, en Franconie

Lire la suite

« La vision requiert de l’espace », proclamaient les 90 familles de vignerons de la plus vieille coopérative viticole de Franconie. Grâce au Weinreich (royaume du vin) de la ville de Sommerach, en Basse-Franconie, ce souhait est devenu réalité. En tant que collectif, les viticulteurs de Sommerach croient qu’il faut marier le respect des traditions à l’esprit d’innovation. Cette philosophie fusionnelle ne se limite pas aux vins qu’ils produisent d’année en année. On en voit l’influence jusque dans la refonte de leur maison de rencontre.

La salle de dégustation du rez-de-chaussée est jeune, moderne et branchée. Le « Kostbar » et son équipe offrent des classiques franconiens aux côtés de cépages internationaux.

Hessische Bergstrasse

Le sentier expérientiel « Wein und Stein » (vin et pierres) d’Heppenheim, Hessische Bergstrasse

Lire la suite

Le long du sentier expérientiel qui serpente à travers les coteaux de vignes d’Heppenheim, dans la région de Hessische Bergstrasse, vous croiserez une sculpture en granite et porphyre à l’image d’une grappe de raisin intitulée « Genèse du roi riesling ». L’artiste Adolf Mayer, de Tramin, cherche à rappeler aux visiteurs que le roi des cépages allemands descend en fait d’un autre cépage plus ancien, le riesling rouge.

Très répandu à l’époque médiévale, le riesling rouge a été restauré par les chercheurs de l’Université de Geisenheim. En 1996, les premières vignes pilotes ont été plantées à Heppenheim, qui est depuis devenue le premier fournisseur de vignes de riesling rouge au monde.

Inauguré en 2007, le sentier expérientiel « Wein und Stein » s’étend sur sept kilomètres et compte 70 stations qui renseignent les visiteurs sur l’histoire culturelle du vin.

Rhin moyen

Le centre viticole de Bacharach : pays du dieu romain Bacchus

Lire la suite

Par son nom, la ville honore le dieu Bacchus. L’antique dieu du vin a laissé sa marque sur cette ville comme nulle part ailleurs. Au Moyen-Âge, Bacharach était l’un des plus importants centres de commerce du vin.

Au cours du 19e siècle romantique, au cœur de la vallée du Haut-Rhin moyen, le petit village de Bacharach était considéré comme l’un des plus beaux endroits sur terre. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que la vallée du Haut-Rhin moyen fût inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 2002.

Moselle

Le vignoble de Calmont: là où la pierre elle-même donne naissance au vin

Lire la suite

Il n’existe pas de pente plus raide au long de la Moselle. Avec un angle de déclinaison qui peut atteindre 60 %, le vignoble de Calmont est le plus pentu de toute l’Europe.

Les pentes abruptes et rocailleuses donnent du fil à retordre aux vignerons qui ne peuvent y travailler qu’à la main – jusqu’à 1800 heures par hectare. Les raisins doivent être descendus à dos d’homme jusqu’aux chariots. Depuis les années 1990, un monorail est venu alléger le travail des vignerons. Ce chemin de fer, élément clé de la culture du vin, mérite le détour à lui seul. Néanmoins, le travail en pente demeure ardu et c’est pourquoi seulement 13 des 22 hectares du vignoble sont toujours exploités.

Nahe

Le vignoble Kupfergrube (mine de cuivre) de Schlossböckelheim, vallée de la rivière Nahe : des métaux semi-précieux à l’or liquide

Lire la suite

Jadis réputés pour le minerai de cuivre qu’on en tirait, ces coteaux produisent aujourd’hui des vins de qualité exceptionnelle.

Avant qu’on y plante du riesling pour la première fois en 1903, les falaises ont dû être dynamitées et cent mille mètres cubes de terre ont été retirés à la main! Huit ans plus tard, ce terreau riche en matières volcaniques et remarquable pour sa haute teneur en ardoise produisait ses premiers millésimes dignes d’attention.

Le domaine Gut Hermannsberg cultive le riesling dans les vignobles en terrasses de Kupfergrube de Schlossböckelheim. Derrière la façade cuivrée de la vinerie, le maître de chai Karsten Peter œuvre à la fermentation des fruits, n’utilisant que les levures sauvages du vignoble pour produire les vins Grosse Gewächs.

Palatinat

Deidesheim – un village vinicole traditionnel du Palatinat

Lire la suite

Pour les viniculteurs de Deidesheim, le respect des traditions n’interdit pas l’exploration de nouvelles avenues. Au milieu du 19e siècle, les négociants en vin de Deidesheim ont lancé le processus de sélection des récoltes qui a mené à la renommée internationale des rieslings de Deidesheim.

En 1802, la jolie petite ville située à la limite est de la région du massif du Haardt fut la première à produire des « Vins de qualité » (Qualitatswein) au Palatinat lorsque le viniculteur Andreas Jordan décida de nommer ses vins selon leur cépage et leur terroir d’origine.

La photo, prise à la vinerie Bassermann-Jordan, montre la représentation artistique d’une coutume de Deidesheim qui consiste à placer des fagots de vignes dans les vieilles caves voûtées pour rappeler à tous que c’est dans le vignoble que tout débute véritablement.

Rheingau

Le monastère d’Eberbach: où les moines produisaient le vin

Lire la suite

Aucun autre bâtiment des environs n’est aussi représentatif d’une viticulture séculaire que l’abbaye d’Eberbach, près du village d’Eltville.

En 1136, treize moines mettaient le pied dans cette vallée isolée du Rheingau pour la première fois. Ils avaient avec eux des vignes de pinot noir importées de Bourgogne. En partie grâce à ses vins, le monastère d’Eberbach est vite devenu l’un des plus grands et importants cloîtres d’Allemagne. Le pinot noir devint le premier vin du Rheingau à connaître un succès à l’exportation. Comme les moines étaient exemptés de charges de transport le long du Rhin, ils dominaient le marché du vin aussi loin qu’à Cologne et en firent un commerce extrêmement profitable.

Comptant 220 hectares de vignobles, le domaine d’Eberbach est la plus grande entreprise viticole d’Allemagne.

Hesse rhénane

Le vignoble Liebfrauenstift : aussi loin que le clocher projette son ombre

Lire la suite

Déjà au Moyen-Âge, les moines cultivaient de la vigne à cet endroit. Et c’est entre les vignobles que l’église catholique paroissiale de Liebfrauen fut construite – une petite basilique gothique tout ce qu’il y a de plus classique avec ses deux clochers, son portique orné de sculptures taillées dans la pierre et sa magnifique travée de chœur.

Les pèlerins de Liebfrauenstift appelaient le doux vin issu des vignobles entourant l’église le « lait de Notre-Dame » – Liebfraumilch, en allemand. En 1834, le pionnier viticole Philipp Bronner édicta la règle concernant cette appellation: « … seulement aussi loin que le clocher projette son ombre pousse le Liebfraumilch original ».

La loi allemande de 1971 sur la viticulture définit simplement le Liebfraumilch comme un vin blanc doux contenant au moins 70 % de raisins de riesling des régions de Nahe, Palatinat, Rheingau et Hesse rhénane.

Saale-Unstrut

Des huttes de vignerons au long des rivières Saale et Unstrut. Saale-Unstrut: des airs du sud dans la région vinicole la plus septentrionale D’allemagne

Lire la suite

Les nombreuses huttes de vignerons que l’on aperçoit sur les coteaux et les terrasses escarpées qui bordent les rivières comptent parmi les emblèmes les plus célèbres de la région viticole de Saale-Unstrut. La plupart ne sont rien de plus que de petites cabanes où les vignerons entreposaient leurs outils, cassaient la croûte, ou se réfugiaient du vent et de la pluie certains jours plus rudes. D’autres servaient de maisons confortables pour le week-end – et quelques-unes devenaient de luxueuses résidences d’été dédiées à la débauche imbibée de vin.

La plus connue de celles-ci est peut-être le Toskanaschlösschen (manoir toscan), avec son revêtement de stuc rouge brique et ses fenêtres et moulures blanches. Du haut de sa tour de guet, les visiteurs profitent d’une vue superbe sur les vignobles du Schweigenberg, incluant ses murs de pierre et ses escaliers aux innombrables marches, ainsi que la vallée de l’Unstrut.

Saxe

Domaine d’État du château de Wackerbarth: la plus vieille cave à vins mousseux de Saxe

Lire la suite

La réputation des vins de qualité supérieure et des vins mousseux de première classe du château de Wackerbarth s’étend bien au-delà des frontières de la Saxe. En sa qualité d’héritier de la marque traditionnelle des champagnes Bussard, Wackerbarth est considéré comme le plus ancien fabricant de vin mousseux de Saxe – et le deuxième plus ancien en Allemagne.

La modernisation et la qualité de la production sont au cœur des préoccupations des propriétaires, comme le démontre le nouvel immeuble du domaine, ouvert en 2002, sous lequel se trouvent de vastes et modernes caves. Le château de Wackerbarth est le premier domaine viticole à inclure un parc d’attractions en Europe. Derrière sa vieille façade baroque, le château présente des séminaires modernes et des événements se rapportant au vin.

Württemberg

Pfedelbach et le fût du prince, Württemberg

Lire la suite

Uniquement vêtue d’une feuille de vigne géante, la figure en bois de Bacchus semble avoir déjà bien assez bu de vin. Et pourtant, les gobelets vides qu’il tient dans ses mains semblent suggérer qu’il serait prêt à en boire davantage. La sculpture originale servait de « Fassriegel », un mécanisme de verrouillage que l’on retrouvait communément sur les tonneaux de 1000 litres et plus.

Le Fürstenfass, ou fût du prince, qui peut contenir 66 664 litres de vin, est maintenant logé au musée de Pfedelbach, au cœur de l’arrondissement de Hohenlohe. Le Fürstenfass a été conçu pour le Zehntwein, un vin perçu à titre de taxe généralement utilisée pour payer les fonctionnaires du prince. On y a versé la dernière dîme en 1822.